Our story
The Eagle at Weeton boasts of a 140-seater pub, with a fully updated décor, stunning panoramic orangery, open fireplaces, fully landscaped grounds, sun terraced pergola, as well as adults table tennis.
Our vision is to create a fantastic community led pub, serving fresh home-cooked food, real ales, elegant cocktails, wines & artisan soft drinks, alongside hosting some great events, including pub quizzes, garden barbeques, gin tastings and many, many more…
We have recently redeveloped the children’s play park, including new climbing frames, swings, tractor park, a bug hotel, imagination chalk board wall & slides. We also look forward to running our fun themed family mornings, with music, dance, entertainment & play.
Our executive chef Amy has been busy cooking up some fresh and exciting new dishes such as braised beef wellington and seabass & seafood linguine to name just a few, as well as keeping the much-loved classics including fish & chips, Lancashire cheese and onion pie and of course our famous Sunday roasts.
We are working with local suppliers on both our food & drink range and are extremely excited to announce our partnership with Black Powder Gin, distilled in Weeton.
Our History
Dating back to 1585, The Eagle at Weeton, formally The Eagle and Child, is one of Fylde’s oldest pubs. Originally part of Lord Derby’s estate, the name was derived from the family crest.
The mounting steps at the front of the inn are dated 1755 and on display inside the pub are the 15th century brass halberds and sword. These were found behind the pub and are reputed to have been used in combat between the Nile and India. The thatched roof was destroyed by a devastating fire in the 1960s, but luckily there remains an original beam still going strong!
Oliver Cromwell is also believed to have stayed at the pub. He bricked up tunnels from the cellar that can be traced to up to Singleton church, it is said these were used as an escape route during the civil war.
Throughout the years the Eagle has seen it all from gangs fighting in the 1600s, ghostly apparitions and all those training at Weeton barracks since 1916.